Women’s World Cup 2023 draw: England faces Denmark and China, Ireland with Australia.

Photo of author

By Creative Media News

The winner of the Group B play-off between Senegal, Haiti, and Chile will complete England’s group; World Cup debutants the Republic of Ireland will meet hosts Australia, Nigeria, and Canada in Group B; The Women’s World Cup will be held in Australia from July 20 to August 20.

Group D consists of England, Denmark, and China for the 2023 Women’s World Cup in Australia and New Zealand.

England’s group will be completed by the winner of the Group B playoff between Senegal, Haiti, and Chile.

Women's world cup 2023 draw: england faces denmark and china, ireland with australia.
Women's world cup 2023 draw: england faces denmark and china, ireland with australia.

The group’s top seed in England, which is ranked fourth in the world by FIFA, ahead of China, the 1999 World Cup runner-up. Denmark, who lost the 2017 Euros final to the Netherlands, is currently rated 18th in the world.

Denmark finished second at the 2017 European Championships, losing to the Netherlands, while China reached the 1999 World Cup final but lost to the United States.

Group B will include World Cup debutants from the Republic of Ireland against hosts Australia, Nigeria, and Olympic champions Canada.

After being placed in Group D at Saturday’s ceremony in Auckland, the European champions of Sarina Wiegman will face a grueling travel schedule in the competition next summer.

The Lionesses begin their season in Brisbane before traveling 500+ miles to Sydney and then 900+ miles to Adelaide.

The Republic of Ireland, who qualified with a 1-0 victory over Scotland, will also play games in Sydney, Perth, and Brisbane.

Group E will see a rematch of the 2019 World Cup final after the United States and the Netherlands were placed together. They will be joined by the debuting Vietnam and the Group C play-off winner.

The United States, who were defeated 2-1 by England in a friendly at Wembley in October, is aiming for an unprecedented third consecutive World Cup victory.

The 2023 World Cup will be the first to feature 32 teams, up from 24 at the 2019 tournament in France, with an intercontinental play-off competition in February determining the final three entries.

The 32 countries were divided into eight groups of four. The top two teams in each group will advance to the elimination rounds.

2023 World Cup draw in full:

  • Group A: New Zealand, Norway, Philippines, Switzerland.
  • Group B: Australia, Republic of Ireland, Nigeria, Canada.
  • Group C: Spain, Costa Rica, Zambia, Japan.
  • Group D: England, Group B play-off winner, Denmark, China.
  • Group E: USA, Vietnam, Netherlands, Group A play-off winner.
  • Group F: France, Jamaica, Brazil, Group C play-off winner.
  • Group G: Sweden, South Africa, Italy, Argentina.
  • Group H: Germany, Morocco, Colombia, South Korea.

England and Ireland are two of the 29 teams that have qualified for the tournament thus far.

  • Australia (co-hosts)
  • New Zealand (co-hosts)
  • China (AFC)
  • Japan (AFC)
  • Philippines (AFC)
  • South Korea (AFC)
  • Vietnam (AFC)
  • Morocco (CAF)
  • Nigeria (CAF)
  • South Africa (CAF)
  • Zambia (CAF)
  • Canada (CONCACAF)
  • Costa Rica (CONCACAF)
  • Jamaica (CONCACAF)
  • United States (CONCACAF)
  • Argentina (CONMEBOL)
  • Brazil (CONMEBOL)
  • Colombia (CONMEBOL)
  • Denmark (UEFA)
  • England (UEFA)
  • France (UEFA)
  • Germany (UEFA)
  • Italy (UEFA)
  • Netherlands (UEFA)
  • Norway (UEFA)
  • Republic of Ireland (UEFA)
  • Spain (UEFA)
  • Sweden (UEFA)
  • Switzerland (UEFA)

What is the schedule of the World Cup?

The group stage will begin on July 20 and conclude on August 3, with group winners and runners-up advancing to the round of 16, which takes place from August 5 to August 8.

On the 11th and 12th of August, the quarterfinals will be placed in Wellington, Auckland, Brisbane, and Sydney.

The first semi-final will be held on August 15 in Auckland, followed by the second semi-final on August 16 at the Accor Stadium in Sydney, which will also host the final on August 20.

A third-place match will be held in Brisbane on August 19, the day before the final.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Skip to content