Nagelsmann ignores Hummels, opts for regulars at Euro 2024

Photo of author

By Creative Media News

  • Nagelsmann sticks with familiar faces for Euro 2024 squad
  • Hummels, Brandt overlooked despite Dortmund’s Champions League run
  • Squad includes Neuer, Kroos, and Sane; Gundogan remains captain

Nagelsmann disregards Hummels and stays with the Euro regulars. Germany national football coach Julian Nagelsmann ignored the late claims of Borussia Dortmund’s Mats Hummels and Julian Brandt when he named a nearly unchanged squad for the 2024 Euros.

Dortmund advanced to the Champions League final, where they will face Real Madrid, thanks to the contributions of 2014 World Cup champion Hummels and midfielder Brandt. However, Dortmund manager Jurgen Nagelsmann stated on Thursday that he preferred to stay with the squad that defeated France and the Netherlands in March.

The hosts’ 27-man squad, which will drop to 26 after the June friendlies against Greece and Ukraine, also omitted Leetzka of Bayern Munich. An injury ruled out Goretzka’s colleague Serge Gnabry.

Germany, which was eliminated in the round of 16 at Euro 2021 and the group stage of the previous two World Cups, performed poorly in 2023, winning only three of eleven games and losing coach Hansi Flick’s position.

Nagelsmann rearranged his squad significantly for the March friendlies following losses to Austria and Turkey at the end of 2023. This included the acquisition of players from Bundesliga champions Bayer Leverkusen and in-form Stuttgart.

As a result, Germany emerged victorious over the Netherlands and France, two 2022 World Cup finalists.

Nagelsmann announced the replacements of Heidenheim’s Jan-Niklas Beste and Fulham’s injured Bernd Leno by Dortmund defender Nico Schlotterbeck and Stuttgart goalkeeper Alex Nubel, respectively.

The squad now includes Bayern’s Leroy Sane, who missed the March friendlies due to injury.

Manuel Neuer (goalkeeper), Thomas Mueller (forward), and Toni Kroos (midfielder) were among the three members of Germany’s 2014 World Cup champions from Brazil who participated in the announcement in downtown Berlin near the renowned Brandenburg Gate.

“Unlock your financial potential with free Webull shares in the UK.”

Despite Neuer’s return, Barcelona midfielder Ilkay Gundogan will continue to serve as captain, as Nagelsmann had previously confirmed before the announcement.

The German FA had already individually announced eighteen members of the squad through social media and other channels, reducing speculation regarding the final composition.

The Euros commence in Munich on June 14, with Germany hosting Scotland.

From May 26 to June 1, Germany will conduct pre-Euro 2024 training in the central village of Blankenhain, where England will be based throughout the tournament.

Dortmund’s Niclas Fuellkrug and Schlotterbeck, along with Real Madrid’s Antonio Ruediger and Toni Kroos, are all scheduled to compete in the Champions League final at Wembley on June 1 and will therefore be unable to participate.

The four will join the squad two days after the Champions League final, as confirmed by Nagelsmann.

Germany will engage in two pre-competition exhibitions, hosting Ukraine in Nuremberg on June 3 and Greece in Moenchengladbach four days later.

The German squad

Marc-Andre ter Stegen (Barcelona/ESP), Oliver Baumann (Hoffenheim), Alex Nubel (Stuttgart), and Manuel Neuer (Bayern Munich) are the goalkeepers.

Joshua Kimmich (Bayern Munich), Waldemar Anton (RB Leipzig), Robin Koch (Eintracht Frankfurt), Maximilian Mittelstaedt (Stuttgart), David Raum (RB Leipzig), Antonio Rudiger (Real Madrid/ESP), Nico Schlotterbeck (Borussia Dortmund), and Jonathan Tah (Bayer Leverkusen) are the defenders.

Marian Wirtz (Bayer Leverkusen), Aleksandar Pavlovic (Bayer Munich), Leroy Sane (Bayer Munich), and Florian Wirtz (Bayer Leverkusen) are midfielders. Pascal Gross (Brighton and Hove Albion/ENG), Ilkay Gundogan (Barcelona/ESP), and Toni Kroos (Real Madrid/ESP) are also Dortmund.

Niclas Fuellkrug of Borussia Dortmund, Kai Havertz of Arsenal/ENG, Thomas Mueller of Bayern Munich, and Deniz Undav of Stuttgart comprise the forwards.

Read More

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Skip to content